My Review of Wake by Robert J. Sawyer

WWW: Wake (WWW, #1)WWW: Wake by Robert J. Sawyer

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

 

It is about a girl who has been blind from birth and gets her sight for the first time through an optical implant and a visual signal corrector. The story is also about the various aspects of the world wide web.

Now, I am not blind, but those who know me will understand why this story appeals to me. Where there is life, there is hope and this story is about a person with disability’s hope becoming a reality. I hope l live long enough to enjoy that.

I have read in the local library’s comment section that the author’s exploration of serious political issues distracts the audience from following the protagonist’s experience. I think that depends on your perspective because the story has another protagonist that is an emerging artificial intelligence on the web. This entity begins to learn what is happening in the world, so exploring the global issues is essential for its growth and the story’s progress.

What eventually connects the two protagonists is of course the world wide web. A friendship between an A.I. and a human is one of the most fascinating topics in science fiction and it is very relevant today. I would recommend this book to anyone who is a science fiction fan and wants to contemplate how vision shapes our beliefs and thoughts.

Leave a Reply

