A Short Book Review – End of East

The End of EastThe End of East by Jen Sookfong Lee

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I had a rare opportunity meet the author at a workshop before I started reading this novel. That helped me understanding this work even more. I am impressed with her ability to tell two or more stories in one book, though they take place in different time periods . Of course this is a fitting literary technique because the novel is about one Chinese immigrant family in Vancouver’s Chinatown over generations.

Although a number of similar stories have already been written, each author adds different elements to one’s work and that makes reading this kind of story interesting. This is especially true for me because I have my background in Sociology and immigration is a major topic in the discipline.

It was an easy and enjoyable read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

