What I Knew Then

Thank you Esther!

From Ty

An Everyday Pilgrim

1834725880_1aa558f292_bI tell my spiritual director about my panic and the memory of being shamed by the principal when I was twelve. “I still see the anger on his face and feel my back against the wall.”

I recall that moment and am that scared little girl again. But then my view broadens, and I find myself outside the scene looking in. Many of the children don’t see what’s happened. One or two snicker, but others are as shocked as I am. They look at me with empathy.

“Do you see Jesus? What does he do?” my director asks.

I know that Jesus was there in spirit decades ago when this happened. But now, using my imagination, I let Jesus show me what he would have done if he’d had a body and was physically present.

I close my eyes and am twelve again. But now Jesus, dressed in a robe and sandals, is in the hallway too. When…

View original post 491 more words

Leave a Reply

